Tech Blog

Help Save Sound Design Tony Award Categories – Sign Petition



For the past 68 years, the Tony Awards have recognized the best of the best in live Broadway theater. The Tony Awards is theater’s equivalent to the Academy Awards for film, the Grammy Awards for music or the Emmy Awards for television. 

In 2008, the Tony Administration awarded the first Tony Awards for Best Sound Design of a Play and Best Sound Design of a Musical. These awards honor the work of acoustic designers who do more than just turn on talent mics. Sound Design is the process of specifying, acquiring, manipulating and generating all elements of audio. Effective sound design of a live performance helps evoke emotion, it underscores the action and it reflects the overall mood of what is happening on stage. 

On Wednesday, June 11th, 2014, the Tony Awards Administration Committee passed a vote to eliminate both Sound Design of a Play and Sound Design of a Musical for the competitive award categories, beginning with the 2014-2015 season. Instead, they may award a Special Tony Award to a production when they have determined that extraordinary sound design has been achieved. 

The announcement that the Sound Design awards were to be eliminated, a mere 6 years after its inception, sent ripples throughout the sound designer community. Within hours, veteran Broadway Sound Designer and Composer, John Gromada, launched an online petition to gather signatures to reinstate the Sound Design awards.

Click HERE to sign the petition to reinstate the Sound Design Tony Awards


>>Tony Awards Committee Mutes Sound Honors

>>Tony Awards Administration Committee Determines 2014-15 Eligibility Rules; Sound Design Categories Eliminated

Go Back
WordPress Lightbox Plugin